Barcelona Unhappy with the handball ruling
Osasuna equalised late on for a 2-2 draw against Barcelona when Roberto Torres converted a penalty after a Gerard Pique handball, a spot kick that the defender doesn’t think should have been awarded.
The Catalan admitted that the ball hit his hand, but argued that it was unintentional and that it shouldn’t have been given.
“I hit it with my hand, but we always have meetings at the start of the season and they talk about distance to the ball,” Pique said.
“I didn’t have time [to get out of the way].
“I wasn’t taking up more space than normal with the hand.
“I was jumping in my natural way.
“I’d like the referees to try it.
“For me, who was in the middle of it, it shouldn’t have been a penalty.”
Despite dropping more points, Pique urged for calm after the game.
“We’re not worried,” he said.
“It’s not the start we wanted, but we know that the league is long.
“The important thing is to get to March or April with a chance of winning the league.
“We’d have liked to have nine points from nine, but we’re having more difficulties than expected.
“It’s important to remain united.”
Asked about Neymar, Pique remained vague about the potential return of the Brazilian.
“We have who we have,” he said.
“We have to focus on those who are here.
“We’ll see if he comes or not.
“There are a lot of people involved in it.”